Sancta Maria International School
Cambridge Assessment International Education
Sancta Maria International School

Early Years

The Cambridge Early Years programme offers a holistic and play-way approach that focuses on the whole child and their development. The aim of Early Years education is to provide a strong foundation for all-around development and lifelong learning.

The programme is built on the five key principles:
Experience, Active, Balance, Play and Transition.

Cambridge Early Years curriculum is designed to promote progression in learning from Early Years 1 to Early Years 2 and later into primary education. It allows the development of knowledge, understanding and skills through a spiral approach.

The curriculum provides a structure for teaching and learning in three stages:
Early Years 1 (EY1), Early Years 2 (EY2) and Early Years 3(EY3).

The content is divided into six curriculum areas:

  1. Communication, language & literacy
  2. Creative expression
  3. Mathematics
  4. Personal, social & emotional development
  5. Physical development
  6. Understanding the world